New Camp Offering

Major General Judson Kilpatrick Camp #7

There is a new SUVCW Camp (local chapter) forming in the Department of North Carolina.  The Major General Judson Kilpatrick Camp #7, headquartered in the Town of Cary, is named for H. Judson Kilpatrick who served the Union throughout the Civil War, including as General William T. Sherman’s cavalry commander during the March to the Sea, and the Carolinas Campaign.

The Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War (SUVCW) is a volunteer, non-profit, charitable, fraternal, patriotic and educational organization similar to the Grand Army of the Republic (GAR), which was the largest Union Civil War veterans' organization. Membership in the SUVCW is open to male descendants of soldiers, sailors, or marines who served honorably in the Union Army or Navy during the War of the Rebellion, 1861- 1865. Those who do not have a Union ancestor, but who still wish to support the Order, may join as an Associate.

All new prospective SUVCW members, or current Brothers interested in joining Camp Kilpatrick, should contact:

Camp Organizer Dennis C. St. Andrew, PDC
110 Ivy Tree Place, Cary, NC 27519
919-388-3042   /

Department of North Carolina Charter

Fraternity, Charity and Loyalty,

Department of North Carolina Chartered 19 April 2008

"The Banner"
Summer 2008

by Br. Doug McMillin

On April 19th, the Department of North Carolina’s first encampment was held at Bennett’s Place State Park. The park surrounds the Bennett family home, where Gen. Johnston’s Confederate Army surrendered to Gen. Sherman. An exact replica of the house sits on the site of the original, which burned in the early 20th century.

Prior to the arrival of the delegates, CinC Charles Kuhn, along with Chief of Staff Gene Mortorff, National Color Bearer Doug McMillin and Junior Joshua McMillin, toured the site. It was very informative and we were pleased to learn that the tour guide was also a brother of the Order.

When all delegates were registered, the meeting began in the park’s museum theater. CinC Kuhn greeted the delegates and praised the work done to bring the Department into existence. Once the officers were elected and installed, CinC Kuhn presented the charter.

The Department’s first Encampment then officially opened, bylaws were voted on, Nat. Encampment delegates were selected and proposed changes to the C&R were debated and voted on. The meeting ended with the delegates sharing the histories of their ancestors. About 4pm, all adjourned to the park’s Unity Monument for a group photo.

Thanks to Bennett’s Place State Park and the staff for allowing this historic SUVCW event to take place at the site of such significance. It was a true honor and privilege to witness. All the best is wished to the brothers of the Dept. of North Carolina as they move forward.

Department Officers:
DC = PCC Douglas P. Elwell
SVC = PCC Richard D. Thomas
JVC = PCC Yale W. Moores
Sec/Treas. = PCC Thomas N. Rightmyer

Department Camps:
MG John H. Ruger Camp 1 – Fayetteville
MG John Gibbon/1Sgt. Daniel W. Burke Camp 2
Daniel Ellis Camp 3 – Asheville 
MG John A. Logan Camp 4 - Raleigh

Department of North Carolina
Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War
Organizational Meeting and First Annual Encampment
April 2008

Front Row L to R: Eugene Mortoff, National Aide-de-Camp; Kevin Motter, Council Member; Douglas Elwell, Department Commander; Bob Farrell, Guard; Rick Thomas, SVC; Richard Sherwin; Tom Rightmyer, Secretary/Treasurer; Jerry Devine; Bryan Salter, Council Member; Kenneth Masters, Eagle Scout Co-Ordinator; Larry Blumatte, Camp Organizer; Dennis Charles St. Andrew, Guide; John Harman, Graves Registration Officer; Wendell Small, Historian; Yale Mooers, JVC; John France, Flag Bearer; Daniel Hopping, Parliamentarian; C-in-C Charles E. Kuhn; Bro. Joshua McMillin; Sam Moore, Council Member; Douglas McMillin, National Color Bearer; Charles Allen. Back Row L to R: Jerry Ankeny; Don Kropp, Patriotic Instructor; and Roscoe Reeve

NOTE: Subsequent to the Department of North Carolina Charter in 2008; North Carolina Union Volunteers Camp #5 was organized in 2008 and Daniel Ellis Camp #3 was disbanded in 2015. The newest addition to the Department of North Carolina is the George Stoneman Camp No 6, organized and chartered in 2017.